A wretched, poor and helpless worm, on Thy kind arms I fall.

I can plod. I can persevere in any definite pursuit. To this I owe everything.

All my friends are but one, but He is all sufficient.

I will go down, if you will hold the ropes.

Expect great things from God. Attempt great things for God.

You have been speaking about William Carey. When I am gone, say nothing about William Carey-speak only about William Carey’s Saviour.”

Prayer – secret, fervent, believing prayer – lies at the root of all personal godliness.

To know the will of God, we need an open Bible and an open map.

When I left England, my hope of India’s conversion was very strong; but amongst so many obstacles, it would die, unless upheld by God. Well, I have God, and His Word is true. Though the superstitions of the heathen were a thousand times stronger than they are, and the example of the Europeans a thousand times worse; though I were deserted by all and persecuted by all, yet my faith, fixed on the sure Word, would rise above all obstructions and overcome every trial. God’s cause will triumph.

Many can do nothing but pray, and prayer is perhaps the only thing in which Christians of all denominations can cordially, and unreservedly unite; but in this we may all be one, and in this the strictest unanimity ought to prevail. Were the whole body thus animated by one soul, with what pleasure would Christians attend on all the duties of religion, and with what delight would their ministers attend on all the business of their calling.

