Although my memory’s fading, I remember two things very clearly: I am a great sinner and Christ is a great Savior.

Can we wish, if it were possible, to walk in a path strewed with flowers when His was strewed with thorns?

The Lord afflicts us at times; but it is always a thousand times less than we deserve, and much less than many of our fellow-creatures are suffering around us. Let us therefore pray for grace to be humble, thankful, and patient.

Trials are medicines which our gracious and wise physician prescribes because we need them; and he proportions the frequency and weight of them to what the case requires.

I am not what I ought to be, I am not what I want to be, I am not what I hope to be in another world; but still I am not what I once used to be, and by the grace of God I am what I am.

We serve a gracious Master who knows how to overrule even our mistakes to His glory and our own advantage.

When I was young, I was sure of many things; now there are only two things of which I am sure: one is, that I am a miserable sinner; and the other, that Christ is an all-sufficient Saviour. He is well-taught who learns these two lessons.

This is faith: a renouncing of everything we are apt to call our own and relying wholly upon the blood, righteousness and intercession of Jesus.

Through many dangers, toils and snares, I have already come; ‘Tis grace has brought me safe thus far, And grace will lead me home.

How sweet the name of Jesus sounds, In a believer’s ear! It soothes his sorrows, heals his wounds, And drives away his fear.

When we look at the ungodly, we are not to hate them – but to pity them, mourn over them, and pray for them. Nor have we any right to boast over them; for, by nature, and of ourselves, we are no better than they.

I endeavored to renounce society, that I might avoid temptation. But it was a poor religion; so far as it prevailed, only tended to make me gloomy, stupid, unsociable, and useless.

There are many who stumble in the noonday, not for want of light, but for want of eyes.

God sometimes does His work with gentle drizzle, not storms.

Believers who have most knowledge, are not therefore necessarily the most spiritual.

Religion is the best armor in the world, but the worst cloak.

They are the happiest Christians, who have the lowest thoughts of themselves, and in whose eyes Jesus is most glorious and precious.

The religion of some people is constrained, like the cold bath when used, not for pleasure, but from necessity for health, into which one goes with reluctance, and is glad when able to get out.–But religion to the true believer is like water to a fish; it is his element; he lives in it, and could not live out of it.

Faith upholds a Christian under all trials, by assuring him that every painful dispensation is under the direction of his Lord; that chastisements are a token of His love; that the season, measure, and continuance of his sufferings, are appointed by Infinite Wisdom, and designed to work for his everlasting good; and that grace and strength shall be afforded him, according to his need.

I am a great sinner, but Christ is a great Saviour.

I am still in the land of the dying; I shall be in the land of the living soon. (his last words)

